Flight

I flew for the first time on Friday, which was fun.  Wrote this on the way back (Wednesday), it’s better than my draft on the first trip (although I’ll still try to polish it and get it up here at some point.)

It’s probably best so far from a stylistic point of view…  but any comments on how to improve would be gratefully received.

Ne’er in my happy youth

The tops of clouds did dream to see

Nor did I wonder in my heart

If I the earth should ever leave.

But for momentary flight

A jump, or leap, or fall from height.

But here I am, a man not old,

In massive silver bird; So bold

To look from tiny holes

and peep down to the far off sea

the land which I did recently leave

And land to whence you go.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Join the Discussion:

