Just another hour

It’s strange the things that are so simple and so very fundamental, and yet they’re the things that are sometimes the hardest to learn.  Several of these have come up recently, but the most formative to me is probably this – life is a whole lot of little things.

It’s crazy simple, and most of you probably know this all too well, but this is a pretty new concept to me.  I always thought that life was a few massive things with a whole lot of little things in between, but I’m coming to the conclusion that I have it upside-down.

My mother (a source of endless wisdom) said often, “Look after the pennies and the pounds will look after themselves.”  I never really got it, but now I think I can see where she was going.

Isn’t life all the little tiny things – the cooking dinner, and doing washing, and blogging, and walking, and praying, and minutes and hours?  It’s the hour we spend procrastinating, and the fifteen minutes we spend chatting on the phone.  That’s life.  That’s what I need to focus on right here and now.

It’s my tone to the next person that’s important.  If I can’t be civil, how can I try and prepare for the next big thing?  There’s something immensely liberating and challenging to this idea…  I’m glad I’m finally learning it.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Join the Discussion:

