Embracing the days

Embrace the day in which the rain
comes shattering ‘gainst the window pane;
And howling gales rage ‘gainst the door
and where roads lie, new rivers flow.

Embrace the day in which the sun
lifts spirits high and lets them run;
And gentle breeze plays in the trees
and gives us mirth and sets at ease.

Embrace the day in which the snow
Blankets a town and stops it’s flow.
And days of hail when people flit
from door to door, dodging the hits.

Embrace the day for it’s of God
and we can’t afford to merely nod
and let it slip between our hands
For we have so few, and so many plans.

I’m very bad at “embracing the day”.  If it’s a “bad day”, then I generally mope (or other related activities).  But that isn’t an option on many days, and (more importantly) it’s not helpful!  Wallowing in self-pity is not a cure for a sad spirit – it’s more likely to be a cause!  Now, don’t get me wrong, I like my quiet days, and I detest the days when I wear my “everything’s fine” mask – but I need to learn to make the most of every day.  Even the worst day – because I believe in a Sovereign God who, to quote an old hymn,

With mercy and with judgment my web of time He wove,
And aye, the dews of sorrow were lustered with His love;

(Anne R. Cou­sin)

My worst day was known and planned by God before I was born.  He ensured it wouldn’t be too much for me.  He protected me from going through even more.  He provided me with ways to deal with it.  And although this isn’t much of a comfort when I’m in the situation, boy does it give me reasons to thank him when I think about it!

And don’t get the wrong impression and think that I love this idea.  Some days I just want to hide in a dark room and watch films.  Some days I’m not on top form.  And some days I’m just sad. But I can’t pick and choose the days I wish to live in, I can only do with them what God would have me do.  And that’s it.  End of.

“This is the day that the Lord has made;  let us rejoice and be glad in it.” – Psalm 118:24

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Join the Discussion:

