Remebering

So, late tonight (early this morning), I was sitting around with my most recent friend from America.  And as we chatted (after some awesome Smash Brothers action)  we got to chatting about hymns – particularly older ones that she didn’t know.

So I started flicking through a collection on my computer – and some of them I found on youtube, others I read a verse or two, a couple I attempted to sing (with a great deal of apologising in between) – and time and time again I was reminded of old truths.  Things I’ve known since I was young.  I was reminded of the depth of God’s grace.  I was reminded of the pain of God’s sacrifice.  I was reminded of the Glory of God.  Of God’s love; kindness; and goodness towards me.  Of my sin; wretchedness; and utter helplessness.  Of how he came to save the lost.  Of how he saved me.

Sometimes, in the here and now, I forget about things.  It’s a common plight, but I was just struck again about how much I forget – how forgetful I can be about all that really matters.  And then I think of my day, how much time I’ve spent doing this or that, how much time I’ve spent trying to remember truth.  And the figure is low – real low; depths of Hades low!

How can I remember if I spend no time remembering?  How can I focus on something that I never look at?  How can I enjoy something if I never take time to enjoy it?

Answer: I can’t.  Can you?

Real question:  What am I going to do about it?  What about you?

Real answer: I don’t know yet.  Maybe I’ll try to answer that on this blog…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. David

     /  August 30, 2012

    Veru interesting points. My question becomes – is it required needed or encouraged to remember everything at once; or merely to have known it once abd be able to recall it with a little prompting.

    Also is this why we sing hymns in times of worship, to remind us of the thing we once knew anew, and which we can recall the freshness of.

    Actually that last paragraph isn’t true for me. I can’t do that. I don’t feel in that evocative way. I know the terminology abd can use to describe my analytical thought but it’s not the process that my brain goes through at those times.

    We are human, we fail, we forget. God accepts us as we are, and whilst he would like us to better know him and have a closer walk, which of us can even truly remember all the facets of character of our closest friends and family member at any one time. Different aspects have different intensity in our lives depending upon the closeness of our relationship, our circumstances and our need at that point in time. If I feel the enormity of Grace this week less than last but have a new greater awareness of forgiveness is this wrong, part of a normal walk, or a min understanding of what it means to know God. I just don’t know.

    Reply
  2. Remember everything at once – no. That would be neigh impossible for anyone with any more than the most superficial of faiths.
    I’m not talking about remember everything. I’m talking about remembering at all.

    I’m talking about having more than a superficial devotional life. I’m talking about having more than two/five/ten/thirty minutes of set aside time for God.

    And you’re right: We are human and God does accept us. But my chief purpose in life is to glorify and enjoy Him. I can’t do either of those if I don’t spend time with him on a regular basis.

    And if I don’t enjoy Him, what shall I enjoy? Nothing else will satisfy.

    [Maybe my post is a little vague, and therefore misleading in it’s general idea. If so, sorry.]

    Reply
  3. King of my life, I crown Thee now,
    Thine shall the glory be;
    Lest I forget Thy thorn crowned brow,
    Lead me to Calvary.

    Lest I forget Gethsemane,
    Lest I forget Thine agony;
    Lest I forget Thy love for me,
    Lead me to Calvary.

    Reply
    • Neil: I forgot about that one – slightly amusingly!

      It’s a good one, thanks for the reminder!

      Reply

Join the Discussion:

