Life

So, I’ve been busy.  Second year has well and truly started, and it feels frantic!  And for a while I was dealing well with it. But it gets a bit much after a couple of weeks.  And then things go tong (not good!), and everything gets even busier and more stressful (and you don’t feel great to boot).

That’s where I am just now.  I’m done.  Worn out.  I have nothing more to give.  And that’s where Psalm 42 comes in for me:

Why are you cast down, O my soul,
and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
my salvation and my God.

Read the whole Psalm here.  Read verses 3, 9 & 10.  There are good reasons why David’s feeling a bit off!

I could give ten reasons why my soul is cast down and in turmoil, but God has ten thousand reasons with which my heart should be filled with praise.  Yeah, life’s hard sometimes.  Yeah, sometimes I just want to break something to make myself feel better.  But you know what?  God is good.  He is big – to say “God is bigger than my troubles” is like saying an elephant is bigger than an ant or that the universe is bigger than an atom.

I might be empty, but He is full.  I might be worn through, but He cannot be worn down.  I might have nothing left, but His stores of grace and blessing are infinite.  And in these truths I will find rest.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Join the Discussion:

