Reflecting

So, its New Years Eve.  And you have probably read a pile of blogs with reflections on the year.  Maybe you’ve made a few resolutions already – and maybe they’ve already been broken!  But nonetheless – here is my contribution to the New Year thoughts.

I was sorting a pile of my college papers today as part of my New Year thing.  And throughout it I found my thoughts and prayers – words that I wrote in the middle of hard times – and also the applications from many a lecture and sermon.  And I’ve been thinking about what I found.

How many of these things have passed by?  How many trials, how many exhortations, how many encouragements, without any real and lasting fruit?  How many lessons have I forgotten, and how much wisdom has only ever touched skin deep?

If I am striving to live a life worthy of Christ, should this trend be so?  No.  Of course not!  So what am I going to do about it?  Maybe this is a crazy idea, and maybe it’s complete blue-sky thinking, but my aim for this year incoming is to actually learn and implement something every week.  That’s 52 things in the year.  Some of them will be small things, others may well be huge – I don’t know.  And maybe at the end of 2013 I’ll look back and say, “52?  Seriously?  I was only aiming for what I could accomplish!”

And, for all you realists (*ahem* cynics, like myself) out there – I’m going to admit this now.  I will fail.  I will let the urgent crowd this out some weeks.  Maybe even most weeks.  In three weeks, when I’ve barely thought about idea number 2, I will have to admit it.  But, you know what?  I’m sick of not doing things just in case I fail; I’m tired of not trying ideas because I won’t trust God at His word; And I’m fed up of people playing it safe, rather than doing what God actually asked.  I’m going to try, and by God’s grace I will succeed.  Maybe not in my initial goal, but in becoming more like His Son, and in glorifying Him more while I live here on this earth.

In Matthew 6.33-34 Jesus says this:

‎ But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.  So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

I’m going to let God set the agenda for this year.  I’m going to strive to learn what He will have me learn, because only He knows how I can be conformed to the image of Christ.  That is my resolution for the year, and particularly for this week when I am most tempted to stress and worry about the year that is set out before me.

May you all have a great New Year, and may God richly bless you and prosper all that you do for His glory in 2013.
tim.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Join the Discussion:

