Truthful

Hey guys,

So it’s Sunday evening, and the First Day of the week is almost gone. And it’s February. Seriously?

Anyway, my thing for this week may seem pretty inconsequential, but it’s going to be a long week and so this is going to be hard for me.

My thing this week is to be truthful, particularly when people ask the question, “How are you?”
Some of my friends (you know who you are) already know to check me on this question, others let it slide. But I really want to get to a place where I can be open and honest about my mood and emotions. This is going to be awkward for some of my conversations – we’re going to have to be a little less ‘British’ – deal with it. It means I’m going to be saying things like “Done”, “Fed up”, or perhaps “Not so good” this week. To many of you, I’m going to evade the question or straight up change the subject – that’s not a slight to you, it’s just I won’t want to talk about it. Give me the space I need, okay?

As part of this, to save you all some real awkwardness, let me give you some advice: If you don’t want to know, don’t ask. It’s that simple.

Am I tired? Yes.
Is my filter broken? To pieces.
Am I going to regret this? Without a doubt.
How am I? None of your business.

Harsh? Yes.
Necessary in this age of constant connectivity and flippant questions? Absolutely.

Have a good night and a good week folks.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Neil

     /  February 4, 2013

    I’ll try and hold you to that if you force me to do the same.

    Reply

Join the Discussion:

