Pressing On

Hello lovely people,

It’s been a long week (read, there has been no weekend) and there is no weekend in sight, the incoming weekend is taken up.  This is not a statement intended to inspire your pity (or any other emotion or feeling), it is merely a fact of where I’m at.  And it’s the seed of what I’m going to focus on this incoming week (or two).

In many ways it ties up all that I’ve already set.  Some of them have worked out well, some forgotten by the morning after writing.  But now, more than normal, I’m needing to guard myself.  Because I’m tired.  Because my ‘filters’ (or if you prefer, my inhibitions) are going to be lower than normal.

And therefore I need to be all the more careful:  More careful about when I go to bed;  More careful about what I watch and listen to;  More careful about getting fresh air (any real care about this would be an infinite improvement) and maybe not eating so much junk (again, infinite improvements are possible in this area);  More careful about prayer and devotion (really obvious, but how often do I neglect these when I get busy!?).

And more careful about what I think, say, and do.  Not to become joyless, not to sink under the weight of angst – but to find my joy in God, and to share that real joy with all those that I come into contact with.

“Watch over your heart with all diligence, For from it flow the springs of life.” – Proverbs 4.23, or to put it maybe more bluntly, “… out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks..” – Luke 6.45b

God has been tremendously good to me over this past week, but I don’t want to rest on my laurels and say, ‘I had a good week’.  May I, and each one of us, learn to keep our hearts well, that we can live consistently well for the glory of God.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Join the Discussion:

